Verogen and Gene by Gene (FTDNA) are partnering to accelerate the adoption of forensic investigative genetic genealogy Read the Press Release
April 21, 2022

Rescuing Inhibited Samples with the ForenSeq Enhanced Buffer System, ePCR1

Using ePCR1 to improve performance on bone samples

Back to Webinars

Thursday, April 21, 2022
8 am PDT / 11 am EDT / 3 pm GMT

Next-generation sequencing (NGS) provides clear advantages for analyzing forensic samples, including enhanced sensitivity, the ability to analyze more markers simultaneously, and the ability to use smaller amplicons. Many of the most difficult samples, such as bones, contain significant levels of PCR inhibitors that can prevent laboratories from taking full advantage of the benefits of NGS. The ForenSeq Enhanced PCR Buffer System, ePCR1, has been developed to help minimize the effect of inhibitors and provide better allele recovery for challenging samples.

In this webinar, you’ll see…

  • The technical specifications for the ForenSeq Enhanced Buffer System and its compatibility with the ForenSeq DNA Signature Prep and ForenSeq MainstAY kits
  • A review of ePCR1 performance from the British Columbia Institute of Technology
  • A case study on how ePCR1 rescued challenging bone samples

Featuring


Jason Moore, Bsc, MA

Faculty British Columbia Institute of Technology

Kathryn Stephens, PhD

VP of Research & Development Verogen